reviews

Reviewer: Felicity, Saltash, Cornwall
Review date: 13 September 2017
Stay:  August 2017

Unspoilt Umbria at its best

We had 7 nights’ holiday for a family party of 8 to celebrate a special birthday. We could not have chosen a better location – an idyllic rural villa embracing the best of Umbria. Roberto and Victoria were wonderful and generous hosts and could not have been more helpful. The house was clean and well equipped and dining outside was a delight for both breakfast and dinner. The pool was perfect with sunbeds for everybody in an attractive and spacious garden. Historic and beautiful Orvieto is within easy reach and there are lots of other gorgeous places to visit – a 4×4 is recommended. We would love to return! A special thanks to our hosts for a wonderful celebratory meal in the Villa.

 

Reviewer: Thierry
Review date: 06 September 2017
Stay:  22 July 2017

Excellent stay

Despite booking on internet is sometimes risky, not with this property. The pictures and listings are very accurate. The owner (Roberto) is good example of typical Italian hospitality. Before the holiday (very responsive on any queries, good English language skills), upon arrival (flexible re arrival time by exchanging text messages and gave good address nearby for first evening for dinner) and during our holiday (for instance during the weekend we had not enough cokes for the BBQ, he managed to provide us extra bag of cokes free of charge after closing hours). Roberto is living nearby, but remained very discrete (while cleaning the pool on a daily basis early in the morning) which we find important. The property is located in quite neighbourhood without any traffic of cars or (loud) music/voices from neighbours. The house itself is authentic/robust, well maintained, spacious and very clean (for instance hardly any insects/bugs while being on the country side). The pool had a good size for 9 people with enough long chairs and umbrellas. Next to the house we had 2 patios for quality time among the family in the shadow for mainly breakfast and/or lunch depending on the moment of the day. The kitchen was large and well equipped (including trees with pears in the garden, as well as variety of herbs). All facilities in the house like lights, showers, washing machine, etc… were working without any disruptions. The property is well located to visit Roma, Peruggia, Terni, Orvieto, etc…All above is very good. One point for improvement is the accessibility of the property due to dusty and steep road. Roberto is acknowledging this challenge and aims to improve the accessibility in collaboration with the community (incl neighbours). Nevertheless, you get good value for money, including excellent customer service. We did go home very relaxed.

 

Reviewer: Anonymous
Review date: 02 August 2016
Stay:  16 July 2016

Fantastic Villa in beautiful setting

Villa Leccio was exactly as pictured if not better. Spacious, tastefully decorated, very clean and with a well stocked kitchen. The grounds are beautifully maintained with a huge garden. The road to the house is a bit of a challenge as mentioned in the description so a sturdy car is recommended. We loved the area. We spent some time in Orvieto which isn’t far away where there are plenty of good restaurants and things to do/see. We also visited the vineyard Decugnagno dei Barbi and spent a day at Bolsena Lake. The rest of the time was spent chilling and sunbathing by the pool. The climate was perfect with hot sunny days and cool comfortable evenings. Roberto was the perfect host, always available to help and give us tips when needed. He went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable 🙂 We would definitely recommend this villa to others.

 

Reviewer: An, Belgium
Review date: 05 October 2015
Stay:  07 August 2015

A lovely house to spend a nice holiday

Our stay in Villa Il Leccio was excellent.
We rented the house for one week in August 2015 with two families (4 adults & 5children) and we really enjoyed our stay. Two weeks would even be better to explore the nice region in Umbria. Roberto was waiting for us when we arrived. We got a warm welcome & tour in the house and garden. There was also a nice bottle of wine waiting for us in the fridge!
In the house everything is foreseen. Also things we did not expect like night lights for the children, washing products for dish washer & washing machine, coffee filters, salt, pepper, herbs etc. The patio was really lovely to enjoy our breakfast & prepared meals when we did not go for dinner in the restaurants recommended by Roberto.
The swimming pool was a nice place to cool down, very clean and big enough.
The only negative point I could mention is the not so good working Wi-Fi during our stay but to be honest we did not miss it. It was pure quality time with the family in a really beautiful neighborhood.
I can only recommend a stay at Villa Il Leccio and don’t let the remarks about the road scare you to book a stay in the house. It is certainly no problem to get there with a normal car although it takes some minutes to get to the house via the unpaved road.
After our stay Mr. Roberto was even so kind to send back a forgotten hoodie from the kids back to Belgium what we really appreciated!

 

Reviewer: Mirella, USA
Review date: 26-Sep-2015
Stay:  12 September 2015

Wonderful!!!
A beautiful villa and gardens abounding with flowers and fruit.
Wonderful swimming pool and surrounding area.  Roberto could not have been more helpful. Getting to the villa was a little dramatic as the sat/nav took us down a very bad and closed road, follow his instructions and not the navigator!!! Definitely recommend

 

Reviewer: Karen S., USA
Review date: 7.11.2014
Stay: October 2014

Lovely property in the peaceful countryside
My sister and I stayed as guests of a friend and thoroughly enjoyed the house. It was a bit ‘tucked away’ and as was mentioned previously, the road to and from the house was a challenge with ruts and grade. But we managed due to an excellent driver. 😉 The house itself was gorgeous with lovely grounds, including a separate out building with grape laden vines to sit under with an espresso or glass of wine. The pool was lovely and inviting although a bit too cool for my taste. But I can imagine it in the summer filled with guests. The inside of the house was perfect for our needs with a dining table just inside the front door which was always busy with guests checking our iPads with the wifi included with the property which worked nicely. From there you could walk straight ahead into the huge kitchen with everything needed to make meals. Full sized refridgerator, 6 burner gas range top, small but adequate oven, toaster and microwave, American coffee maker, a double sink (shallow but functional), dishwasher and even an indoor BBQ thing-y which we did not use. There is also a grill outside and eating area out of doors under a nice cover. I even found a food processor and there were other small appliances. Enough cookware and dinner ware for our needs also. There were 5 of us.
The living room was two couches, a few scattered side chairs, coffee table and another long wood dining table with bench and chairs. Also a wood burning fireplace which we used in the evenings to take the chill off. there was also a small bathroom with shower and washing machine just off the kitchen.
Up the spiral stairs (or via an outside stairway to the master bedroom) were the four bedrooms and two bathrooms. All were very nicely decorated and quite comfortable (I speak for myself). Floors are brick so they were cool but gorgeous. My sister and I arrived after other travelers had been staying there and from what I could see, the house was very clean and well maintained.
Other than the distance from Orvieto itself and having to pick up drinking water I thought the house was the perfect place to stay for a quiet home base from visiting the nearby towns and sights all day.

 

Reviewer: Katherine C., Hong Kong
Review date: 20.10.2014
Stay: September 2014

As good as it looks
Il Leccio is as good as it looks. I spent a wonderful 3 weeks in this secluded villa. The kitchen is perfect for would be chefs. Il Leccio is perfectly located for day trips in a car or by train. The owner was accommodating without being obtrusive. The gravel road is a challenge, but you don’t need a 4 wheel drive. You do need some ground clearance. I traded the Alfa for a Fiat 500 L, and it was perfect. Would recommend the villa without reservation.

 

Reviewer: Anonymous
Review date: 19.09.2014
Stay: August 2014

Beautiful family hideaway in the Umbrian hills
Il Leccio is one gem of a villa tucked away amongst the vineyards, olive groves and fruit trees of Umbria. It is ideal for a family looking to get away from it all with huge, beautifully maintained gardens, a lovely big swimming pool and shaded al fresco dining. The villa is very tastefully decorated with historic artifacts and features, maintaining it’s rustic charm. Roberto, the owner was lovely – extremely hospitable and helpful. Although the villa is off the beaten track, there are quaint little villages to visit nearby with historic castles. Orvietto is only about 20 minutes drive away so very convenient to buy all your groceries! We ventured out to an amazing winery around 40 minutes drive called Decugnano Dei Barbi which was very memorable with beautiful wines. Definitely worth the trip – even my 6 year old enjoyed it! We are not the type of people that visit the same place twice but we would definitely return to Il Leccio again. In terms of value for money, this place wins my vote! It was a holiday to remember!

 

Reviewer: Alain, Belgium
Review date: 06.09.2014
Stay: August 2014

Enchantement en Ombrie
Un excellent accueil de la part de Roberto, assorti de cadeaux de bienvenue. La maison, de charme italien, est très spacieuse et le terrain immense. Des espaces différents permettent à chacun de vivre à son rythme (salon sous une pergola de vignes, balançoire de charme, piscine ou terrasse ombragée)
En plus d’être bien équipée, tout est fourni, lessive, sacs poubelles, carte, guide, charbon de bois pour barbecue, jeux, matelas gonflable, etc…
Le propriétaire est au petit soin tout en restant très discret. Il vient tous soirs nettoyer la piscine, et s’avère d’excellent conseils (visites, trajets, restaurants…)
Super séjour au calme, que nous aurions aimé prolonger davantage.
Nous recommandons vivement cette villa.
Le seul bémol pourrait concerner l’accès pour les voitures basses, et les insectes de campagne.
Alain

 

Reviewer: Mark, Holland
Review date: 17.09.2013
Stay: 20 July 2013

A marvelous place to stay
Villa il Leccio is a great place to celebrate your holiday. A nice decorated en fully equiped villa with a nice pool. Our children enjoined our 2 week stay. There are great places to visit such as Orvieto and Rome. Culture and nature and fine italian restaurants. We had a great stay and can recommend this place to everyone.

 

Reviewer: Barbara, München – Germany
Review date: 12.09.2013
Stay: August 2013

Das Haus liegt auf einem sehr großen Grundstück und ist mit vielen liebevollen Details ausgestattet. Der Pool und das ganze Grundsctück waren sehr gepflegt. der Vermieter ist freundlich und hilfsbereit. die Stadt Orvietto und der Bolsenasee sind einen Ausflug wert. 14 Tage Ruhe und Erholung pur. auch den Teenis hats gefallen.
Obwohl wir wusten das die Anfahrt über eine Naturstrasse führt, war diese doch schon fast abenteuerlich zu befahren. Ausflüge und Einkäufe sollten geplant sein. Mal kurz weg ist nicht.

 

Reviewer: Philippe, Belgium
Review date: 04.09.2013
Stay: 13 July 2013

Adorable villa with swimming pool
We spent fantastic holidays in a very nice house with a great swimming pool. Roberto (owner) was very gentle and available for information. He knows his region very well. If you don’t mind the gravel-route to reach the house, we can absolutely advice Villa Leccio. There was only 1 problem: time passed much to quick.

 

Reviewer: Patrick, Hasselt – Belgium
Review date: 09.08.2013
Stay: July 2013

Mooie woning met fantastisch zwembad in een mooie omgeving
Viel ons niet tegen maar men moet toch rekening houden met een flink stuk onverhard om aan de woning te geraken.

 

Reviewer: Stockerau, Austria
Review date: 27.09.2012
Stay: September 2012

Das Haus als Solches, der Garten, der Pool und das generelle Umfeld, die Ausstattung des Hauses und die Freundlichkeit des Vermieters
Wenn man viele Ausflüge macht ist der Anfahrtsweg wirklich ein Minus.
Info: Erstaunlich war die Asterix-Bar in San Gorgio. Von außen wenig einladend, aber der Geschmack und die Menge der “Tappas” zum Aperetivo suchen selbst in Italien ihresgleichen.
Anonymous (Group of friends)

 

Reviewer: Markelo, Netherlands
Review date: 14.08.2012
Stay: July 2012

Privacy, rust, accomodatie.
Slechte onverharde weg waar villa aan ligt
Info: Orvieto en Pitigliano zijn musts. In de buurt van Il lecco (Castel Giorgio) zit een prima restaurant/pizzeria.
Eddy (Family with young children)

 

Reviewer Location: Ede, Netherlands
Review date: 13.08.2012
Stay: July 2012

Alles, het is een paradijs!
Lisette (Family with older children)

 

Reviewer: Clane, Republic of Ireland
Review date: 12.07.2012
Stay: June 2012

It was quiet and relaxing
Getting to the villa from the road was very difficult as the road was not car friendly
Info: I found Orevito very interesting the church and the caves. I also traveled to Siena that was brilliant as we got to see the races and the flag throwing which happens twice a year.
Keith (Family with young children)

 

Reviewer: Longham, Ferndown, United Kingdom
Review date: 12.07.2012
Stay: June 2012

The quiet location, the overall ambiance and facilities.
The steep and somewhat tortuous road into the property.
Info: Places we liked were Orvieto, Sienna (just before Il Palio) and Civita di Bagnoregio. As for restaurants, we didn’t use many, tended to eat in a lot as it was easy and convenient for the 7 of us.
Valerie (Family with older children)

 

Reviewer Location: Germany
Date of Stay: August 2010
Review Title: Wonderful quiet nature

Villa il Leccio is a charming and beautiful house. Everything was as described – or even better. We (4 adults, 4 children aged 7-11) spent two wonderful weeks in this quiet place. The house is embedded in a beautiful garden. Together with the pool, which was cleaned by Roberto every day it was an ideal playground for our children. Roberto Tosatti (the owner) gave us a lot of tips and supported us perfectly in every respect.

You need to try his homemade olive oil!!!

We had a lot of fun visiting Siena, Rome, Todi, the lake Bolsena etc.. All of these interesting places can be reached within one hour or less.

We definitely recommend this place to friends. I have to mention the rough dirt road leading to the house. It has some nice bumps but you can make it with a regular car.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Martin Nuernberg

 

Reviewer Location: München, Germany
Review date: 28.06.2010
Stay: May 2010

Was waren die Highlights Ihres Urlaubs? das schöne haus und der große, sehr gepflegte Garten.
Wie war Ihr Gesamteindruck von der Unterbringung? traumhaft.
Gab es unangenehme Überraschungen? nein.
Sabine Weber-Giapoulis

 

Reviewer Location: Germany
Date of Stay: August 2009

“Was waren die Highlights Ihres Urlaubs? Traumhaus in Traumlage umgeben von Obst- und Olivenbäumen.
Wie war Ihr Gesamteindruck von der Unterbringung? Rundum perfekt! Wir sind vom Eigentümer sehr herzlich empfangen worden und hatten vor ort für all unsere Fragen seine Unterstützung. Wir bekamen Tips für Ausflüge oder Restaurants. Das Haus war sehr gepflegt und absolut liebevoll eingerichtet.
Gab es unangenehme Überraschungen? –
Haben Sie andere Anmerkungen? Villa Il Leccio ist absolut zu empfehlen, wenn man einen ruhigen erholsamen Urlaub sucht.”
Thomas N.

 

Reviewer Location: Mill Valley, California, US
Date of Stay: June 2009
Review Rating: 5/5
Review Title: “It Was The Best!”

“My friends and I have been renting homes in Europe for the last 8 years, and Roberto’s house was the best yet! A little out of town, but heaven, once you arrived. Spacious, comfortable beds with lovely linens, beautiful property with a swimming pool right outside the kitchen. Breakfast/Cocktail area also near the kitchen, and outside dining. Everything about the the house was wonderful. Nice furniture. Interesting antiques, and stenciling about the house. Roberto’s wife does the paintings, and she is a master. At the time a Pea Hen was hanging around, and we had fun feeding her. Like a little pet. We were able to use our computers, keep our wine at the perfect temperature, go for walks up or down the road. It is quiet, lush and lovely. I have been trying to sell it to some friends, just recently. Old Orvieto is about 20 minutes away, where you pass by some amazing wineries and gorgeous scenery. There are wonderful restaurants in Orvieto…….it is up to you to explore! When you come back in the evening, you will be so happy to have rented this property. Roberto is over at the old water tower house, so he is easily accessible , but not the least bit intrusive. We enjoyed chatting with him, from time to time.”
Onecent

 

Reviewer Location: England
Date of Stay: June 2009

“Having just returned from il Lecchio in Orvietto we just wanted to say how much we had all enjoyed our holiday. The villa was even better than the web site…and that was good…it was absolutely ideal for our family with lots of space and every amenity we could ask for including high chair, cot and baby swing! Roberto was also wonderful and made sure we were welcomed and well looked after when we first arrived…It was somewhat of a longer drive than expected from Rome and with various delays we arrived in the dark and it was not the easiest location to find in the dark being so remote. Thanks to Roberto for all his help.

So thanks again from some very happy clients..and thanks for organising the weather too which was brilliant!
Kind regards
Alan and Anita Brown”
Alan and Anita

 

Reviewer Location: Malawi, Africa
Date of Stay: October 2008
Name on Contract: Frank

Overall impression: ABSOLUTELY PERFECT FOR US
Highlights: THE DISCOVERY OF ORVIETO AND THIS PART OF THE UMBRIA BUT ALSO THE SHEER PLEASURE OF THE (BIG) GROUNDS, THE PATIOS AND POOL AT IL LECCIO. PLUS ROBERTO’S RECOMMENDED RESTAURANT IN ORVIETO (IL ORSO) WHERE WE HAD ONE OF THE BEST GOURMET MEALS OF OUR LIVES. A LOVELY THEATRE IN ORVIETO WHERE MY ARGENTINIAN WIFE WAS ENRAPTURED BY A TOTALLY UNEXPECTED CONCERT OF CLASSICAL TANGO MUSIC
Unpleasant surprises: HERTZ CAR HIRE SERVICE IN ORVIETO WAS POOR. WELL MEANT, FRIENDLY ENOUGH BUT INEFFICIENT. THE THOUGHT OF HAVING TO DEAL WITH THEM AGAIN WILL BE THE ONLY SLIGHTLY DAUNTING PART OF OUR RETURN TO ORVIETO. WE WILL TRY HIRING IN ANOTHER TOWN WITH ANOTHER COMPANY.

“We go twice a year to Rome/Italy, for up to a month each time, and already look back fondly on Il Leccio as our best choice ever for a Tuscan/Umbrian villa. This is due in major part to the warmth and helpfulness of the Tosatti family who really could not do enough for us. I can mention welcoming food (lots of garden grown walnuts and hazelnuts included!) and drink, many books (and guide books to the region), regular visits to make sure all went well and generally very helpful tips on an area which they obviously love themselves.
Roberto’s family actually move into the house during the off-season, from their own lovely tower property close by, and this means a huge difference, makes it a real home and not a sparsely furnished rental property. We were so impressed with the villa, the location, so close to Orvieto, and our host’s sincere and efficient helpfulness, that it has become the first Italian property we have ever wanted to return to. That will be as soon as possible and almost certainly next year when we will base ourselves in Umbria for longer and use the villa for visiting Rome rather than staying in expensive, and miserably miniaturised, apartments in the city.
We heartily recommend Il Leccio, without any reservation, to anyone considering renting a property of this size. There was a previous comment about the dirt road which we couldn’t agree with, but we live in Africa where real dirt roads can be real challenges. The recommended access road was not bad at all requiring only a tiny bit of care on one hill but could prove more of a risk for very low clearance cars. The alternative shortcut from Orvieto, through Il Lapone, with much more dirt road, was the route we actually preferred.”
Frank (Malawi)